More Obama administration turnover


More high-level appointees have announced their departures from the Obama administration. Among the latest is Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood, who said Jan. 29 he will depart as soon as a successor can be found.

Also leaving is Michael Astrue, the social security commissioner, who said Monday he will leave the agency in February in favor of returning to his Massachusetts home. Earlier this month, Interior Secretary Ken Salazar also announced his plan to leave the cabinet by the end of March.

The administration already lost Securities and Exchange Commission Chairman Mary Schapiro on Dec. 14 and Labor Secretary Hilda Solis.

The administration knows it will lose Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, Defense Secretary Leon Panetta and Treasury Secretary Timothy Geithner and Environment Protection Agency administrator Lisa Jackson.

A federal appeals court has also ruled that President Obama's appointees to the National Labor Relations Board are unconstitutional, according to recent reports. This could also call into question his appointment of Richard Cordray to lead the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.

The president also had CIA Director David Petraeus resign last November after a mistress scandal.

For more:
- read LaHood's statement
- see Astrue's announcement

Related Articles:
Obama's Cabinet nominees at a glance
Second term challenges loom large, says panel
Shuffling the secretary seats